“I walk tall with my Reading habit” (by Samima)

Recalling  childhood days I found myself indulged deeply in the habit of reading.  Inception of this habit was  with  small story books like Aesop fables and ranging  fairy tales to thriller like Imran series . I had books on morals, historic figures like Razia Sultana, Salahuddin Ayubi, Muslim Caliphs and their justice.  Of course the choice of books at that time was by my mother …. She used to gift me books on my birthday or on any other occasion.

So the seed of reading was sown there in me very early and very deep.  Then comes a time when the books started to age with me …. Here comes that hardcore literature both  English and Urdu, there was chic feminism of Austen, Asmat Chughtai and Amrita Pritam,  refined writings of Wilde, Bernard Shaw and  Bedi , unconventional fictions by Hardy and Manto, mysteries by Conan Doyl, classic novels by Hajra Masroor, Razia Butt and Khadija Mastoor or best sellers ranging from Stanley Wolpert’s Zulfi Bhutto of Pakistan to  Tehmina  Durrani’s My Feudal Lord  and so many others all around me, waiting  to be explored  and I took full advantage of it in my Khalid Uncle’s library …. This reading habit  was a kind of fuel for me at that time .  In those severe & hard competition education days, it was very  hard but I used to manage some time for this habit, don’t know why but every read book proved only a drop in the bucket.
 Today, when I look around, I hardly find a teenager having such  inclination for reading, most aren’t  great proponents . They rather consider reading as very primordial or elementary way of killing time.  Even the course books aren’t welcomed much. Cable and Internet adds fuel to fire in these circumstances. So, Is  the habit of reading dying? though a defence one can give is “World is becoming faster” but internet and other sources of entertainment can never replace books. Acquiring  habits  is always a personal choice, but  it is parents responsibility to provide their child with a stimulating environment or at least any predisposition to certain good habit should  be welcomed.  Reading  books helps character building, defines  an individual’s  standing in society  , and gives depth to a personality. During this habit my process of actualization started  and  was able to comprehend why  Sir Francis Bacon once said “Knowledge is Power”.
Some people these days do  manifest liking for the  habit , they are explicitly telling  u about their  reading habit … but ironically it  only covers newspaper/ magazine reading or some articles of  famous journalist. Our  society isn’t only  lacking this regular disposition  but is  depriving  itself  from  knowledge that these books can provide  us.  We are proactive in becoming  ‘informed’ and overlooking the part called  ‘knowledge ’. Both must go hand in hand, otherwise this shortcoming can always be exploited.
Leave a Reply

